Meet The…Office Manager!

Floyd, COO Floyd the Flamingo, local celebrity and COO (Chief Office Ornithologist) of WCT recently sat down with the new(ish) Office Manager Kelly Doherty. 

Floyd: I know the people here at Civic are just dying to know more about you.  Are you originally from the Waukesha area?

Kelly: In northern Minnesota I was born and raised.  On the lake is where I spent most of my days.  Swimming and kayaking, paddling the canoe, throwing some Bocce Ball (man, I was cool).   To make a long story short, my family moved to Madison when I was in grade school when my dad got a new job.

Floyd: Did you always want to work in theatre, or was this job a crazy random happenstance?

Kelly: Theatre has been a very big part of my life ever since middle school when I got cast in my very first show.  In high school, I wowed audiences in such critically acclaimed roles as Offstage Voice and Lady 1, just to name a few.  Buoyed by the success of those roles, I decided theatre was my life and focused on it all through college.  It is really great that I still work in theatre.  I can’t say that about all of my classmates.

Floyd: Do you ever bridge out into the performing aspect of theatre, or you a strictly behind the scenes kind of gal?

Kelly: Since moving to Milwaukee six years ago, I’ve appeared onstage with a number of theatre companies including Optimist Theatre, Uprooted Theatre, and was a founding member of Kohl’s Wild Theatre.  I’ve most recently appeared as Oddyseus in the The Penelopiad with Luminous Theatre, and as Sister Berthe in The Sound of Music with Skylight Music Theatre.  You may have also seen me perform in WCT’s very own Comedy Tonight’s Love American Style this past February.  I have recently added the title Playwright to my resume and have written a few shows for Kohl’s Wild Theatre.  When I’m not acing, writing, or office managing, I also teach a number of our ACT classes.

Floyd: What kind of things do you like to do in you free time?

Kelly: When not doing theatre, you can usually find me knitting, sewing, or reading, usually with the assistance of my ever-helpful lap-cat Christine (yes, she is named after the ingénue from Phantom of the Opera).  She is very good at holding things down so they do not float away.  I also love thrifting.  Macklemore got nothing on me.

Floyd: If you could be any bird, what kind would you be and why?

Kelly:  I would like to be a little penguin because they are so flippin’ cute and everybody loves them.  Also, sushi is my favorite food.

Floyd:  What is the one thing you would like everyone to know?

Kelly: I am the funniest person my little sister knows.  No joke.

Posted on September 3, 2013, in Staff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Meet The…Office Manager!.

Comments are closed.

